Naturally Made… Almost Paleo Chocolate, Banana, Chia Muffins

IMG_0098

I have been meaning to post a recipe using the left over almond meal which I have from making my Naturally Made Raw Almond Milk. If you follow me on Facebook, last week you may have seen that I made Raw Chocolate Cinnamon Almond milk (You can use this link here for the recipe). I had added in raw cacao and cinnamon to make the milk so I wanted to make muffins that incorporated those flavors. Who doesn’t like chocolate?

One reason I use Raw Cacao over cocoa powder is that the raw cacao contains 367% more antioxidants, according to nutritionist and raw food advocate, David Wolf! The traditional store bought cocoa is overly processed and the actual cocoa butter is removed and therefore, many of its nutrients are lost.

These muffins are full of antioxidants, enzymes, fiber, and complex carbohydrates. They are perfect for breakfast with a side of eggs, for an afternoon snack pick-me-up, and are even sweet enough for dessert!

Naturally Made… Almost Paleo, Chocolate, Banana, Chia Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 c almond flour/meal (You can buy this at any healthfood store or use leftovers… The 2 cups of almonds I used to make the milk left me with about 1 3/4 c of almond meal)
  • 1/4 c Raw cacao (You can buy HERE. Many of my favorite products you can now purchase on my amazon store!)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp fine grain sea or Himalayan salt
  • 2 Tbs +1 Tbs Chia seeds for muffin tops
  • 1/2 c. pitted dates, chopped
  • 4 Tbs Organic coconut oil (buy HERE)
  • 4 Tbs Plain Fage Greek yogurt (or plain dairy free yogurt)
  • 1/3 c raw honey (buy HERE)
  • 2 large Organic eggs
  • 1 tsp organic Vanilla
  • 3 large ripe banana’s

IMG_0055

I used the almond meal left over from making almond milk. But feel free to buy some as well you will have a little different consistency since mine had some moisture left in.

IMG_0056

In a large bowl, Add Almond meal, soda, salt, and cacao, and whisk together.

IMG_0061

Chop dates and add to almond meal mixture.

IMG_0067

Mash bananas with a fork and set aside. In a blender combine coconut oil, yogurt, eggs, honey, and vanilla.

IMG_0071

Add in the wet ingredients from the blender and stir. Add banana’s and stir to combine.

IMG_0073

Line muffin pans with parchment paper liners. Scoop mixture into the pan using a large spoon or ice cream scoop to make the job easier.

IMG_0076

Sprinkle with the remaining 1Tbs of Chia seeds then place into preheated oven at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.

IMG_0104

Enjoy with a glass of homemade almond milk!

**Note** I call them “Almost Paleo” due to the greek yogurt, but you can substitute with a non-dairy yogurt as well. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Naturally Made… Almost Paleo Chocolate, Banana, Chia Muffins

  1. OOh! I actually have all the ingredients for this (minus the raw cacao, so regular will have to do!). What is the consistency like? Is it like a muffin? More dense? I just have regular almond meal so I guess it will be drier than yours anyway, but just wondering 🙂
    PS. In the ingredients you put the measurements for the chia seeds (I assume) but you forgot to put the words 🙂

    • Don’t you love when that happens! Yes regular cocoa will work as well. They are very moist! I have made other muffins from regular almond meal and they were also very moist.

      Oops!! Haha! Thanks for letting me know I forgot to write chia! I will update ASAP!

Leave a Reply

