Naturally Made Toasted Walnut Kale Pesto

One of my newest favorite foods is Kale!  I don’t know about you, but growing up I only new of Kale to be a garnish on a plate to make it pretty… but to EAT it!?  That was a different story.  I absolutely love it now and we literally eat it almost daily, if not daily.  Kale is delicious in smoothies, salads, as Kale chips, or sautéed as a side, and yes even as Pesto!

Why is Kale so good for you? Kale is actually one of the healthiest vegetables on the planet (I really want to emphasize that!).  Just 1 cup of Kale  is LOADED with 1,020 % Vitamin K, 5 grams of fiber, 15% calcium and B6, and 200% of vitamin C, just to name a few.  According to WebMD, “Eating a diet rich in the powerful antioxidant vitamin K can reduce the overall risk of developing or dying from cancer.” This is why I consistently emphasize the importance of eating a nutrient rich, natural, organic diet… It prevents CANCER (and many other diseases)!

Food is healthcare!  Medicine is sickcare! Our bodies can only take on so much punishment (processed foods, alcohol, chemicals, toxins, etc) before they get sick.

Here is a delicious way to increase your Kale intake…

Naturally Made Toasted Walnut Kale Pesto

Ingredients

  •  bunch Kale, stems removed
  • 1/3 cup walnuts toasted (6-8 min in oven) plus 2 Tbs
  • 1/2 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 cup Pecorino cheese grated
  • 1 clove of garlic
IMG_4318

Rinse kale and remove the leaves from the stems.

IMG_4322

Place kale in a steaming basked above boiling water and steam for about 4-6 min. Kale will be a bright green when ready.

IMG_4323

While the Kale is steaming, place walnuts on a baking pan and put in a preheated oven at 400 degrees for 6-8 min.

IMG_4325

Remove kale from steamer basket and let it cool in a colander for a few minutes.

IMG_4329

Once its cooled down a bit, squeeze out all excess water.

IMG_4334

Place all ingredients into a food processor or blender and pulse to blend.

IMG_4337

It will look like this when done! Add the extra 2 Tbs of chopped walnuts for a great textured crunch.

Enjoy this tossed with your favorite whole grain pasta, spaghetti squash, or on top of pizza (I have a pizza crust recipe in the works!) to replace pizza sauce!  I love feed back… let me know what you think!

IMG_9813

Rocco eating his Kale at 10 months old!

IMG_9815

Maximus reaching for his Kale at 10 months old

These are a couple pictures of my boys taken almost a year ago in May.  I wanted to share these to show that it is never too early (or late) to start feeding your kids a variety of nutritious foods early on.  I introduced my twins to Kale in the beginning.  I wanted them to enjoy a variety of flavors and have a broad palate!  It worked!

10 thoughts on “Naturally Made Toasted Walnut Kale Pesto

  1. I just made this and it’s FABULOUS!!! Not sure exactly how much kale I was supposed to use- my head was gigantic, so I think I used less than half. Can’t wait to serve it for dinner tonight mixed with some pasta and chicken 🙂

  2. I’ll probably try this as my hubby and I do not love basil. I am planting some Kale seeds this year in our garden. I am hoping they do well!

Leave a Reply

