Raw Shea Body Butter

It is shocking what ingredients manufacturers will incorporate in products that we use every day. All though there are many toxic ingredients, Parabens, which are cheap CHEMICALS used to preserve the cosmetics most people use DAILY, are the main offenders.  They are found in lotions, soaps, shaving gel, personal lubricants,  shampoo’s and conditioners, make-up,  toothpaste, diaper creams, baby lotions and soaps. The have become increasingly controversial since they have been found in biopsied breast cancer tumors!  I can only imagine that with all the products on the market that the FDA deems safe, the parabens and other toxic chemicals build up in our bodies and can potentially have devastating effects.

Many people refute these facts.  But with any possibility of preventable cancer, I say “NO THANKS!”  Here is a great site for you to check out! Readers beware… scary findings!  It lists the toxic ingredients on just about every cosmetic on the market!

In my house, I am known as the ingredient nazi.  I read everything that enters my domain. One thing to look out for when reading an ingredient list, is that “paraben” is usually the second part of a word, as a suffix (welcome back to English 101!).  Here  are few dangerous ingredients for example… Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Heptylparaben, Methylparaben.  If paraben is part of any word, I throw it out!

My son Rocco has extremely sensitive skin.  It seems as if everything effects it.  He gets hives when he is very upset, terrible diaper rashes from tomatoes  (which are out of his diet now) and has struggled with eczema around his neck for some time now.  He has been much of my inspiration for making products for our family to use.  The latest which we are loving is Raw Shea Body Butter!  It has done wonders for my skin and now my son Rocco’s!  Plus, it feels amazing on!

RAW SHEA BODY BUTTER

Ingredients

1 cup of Raw Shea Body Butter (I purchased mine here)

1/2 cup of Organic Coconut Oil (unrefined)

1/2 cup of sweet Almond Oil (or a light oil of your liking)

10 or so drops of your favorite essential oil (I used fresh lavender from my garden for this batch)

photo-1

Instructions 

Using a double boiler (I made my own using a metal bowl), melt all the ingredients together, stirring slowly.

photo

Remove from heat and let solidify.  It will take about an hour in the refrigerator. Then whip into amazingness!

photo-2

It makes about four cups.  I store mine in 16 oz short wide mason jars.  Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Raw Shea Body Butter

  1. Love your new blog, and love this recipe- definitely making a batch soon! Can’t wait to see more 🙂 Your boys are adorable, they are getting so big!

  2. Pingback: Dry Brushing | Loving Life… Naturally

  3. Pingback: NEVER BUY DEODORANT AGAIN! | Loving Life… Naturally

  4. Pingback: Natural Living… Chemicals in our Cosmetics | Loving Life… Naturally

Leave a comment